Search engine optimization, Google and the Deep Web

February 1, 2009

On January 7, 2008, on an old blog, I wrote:

I noticed some odd behaviour from the Googlebot in my server logs today: It’s using my search feature on key words.

Best guess is that it uses the search as one way of determining my site’s relevance on these keywords.

Clever. SEO tip: If your site has a search feature, make sure it works well on the keywords. Google cares.

Today: How google crawls the deep web and a newly-discovered announcement from April 2008: Crawling through html forms

How well does your site’s search form work for the keywords you care about?

One Response to “Search engine optimization, Google and the Deep Web”

  1. Aesc Says:

    Sometimes I read your blog just to remind me that there’s a whole world of knowledge out there that I will never begin to understand… And I know I could go basically anywhere to come to the same conclusion, but it’s all the more interesting given that we grew up in the same house.


Comments are closed.

