Planning a Thesis

March 30, 2009

The second semester is winding down. In a few weeks, I’m meant to hit full speed on thesis work. 

What’s going on right now?

  • An illness halved my productivity today. Hope to be better tomorrow.
  • I suspected my thesis idea had already been done. I just confirmed that news.
  • In compilers, I have to finish off a final assignment, do a chapter of reading, and prepare for the final examination.
  • In the project course, I have to get my share of the project to a proud state.
  • My teaching assistantship boss has effectively saved most of my hours until now. Now he’s spending them.
  • I’m a minor contributor to an ITICSE paper. Reviewer comments are back and I need to help revise. Mostly that means digging up and reviewing more literature.
  • I’m traveling for family reasons this weekend. The week following I’m volunteering for Mesh and then I’m away again for Easter.
  • It’s tax season and it looks like I’m going to have to work hard to get the forms I need.

What’s next?

  • I want to read Jorge’s thesis as well as a few of the top ACM theses.  
  • I want to get caught up on the last few years of the top SE and ESE papers.
  • I want to get through more of the ESP proceedings and ideally catch up on PPIG too.

I hope by completing the above I’ll get a sense of what’s going on in the field and how I can join in.

Of course, all of that excludes my non-academic interests, like finishing off jQuery in Action, Beautiful Code, SICP, Real World Haskell, or building things, or going to the gym, or seeing human beings…

