Notes on “Why Programs Fail”

April 30, 2009

Greg lent me Why Programs Fail so I could read about program slicing. What a great book! I wish I had it when I was working on DB2. It details many tools and techniques that would have been tremendously useful for me, for my team and in fact for anyone working on a large code base. In particular my mind was blown by the example of 30-minute automatic debugging of a gcc optimizer crashing bug. I think the book would make a phenomenal textbook for an undergraduate class.

From a research perspective it wasn’t too interesting, though. The information on slicing didn’t go beyond what I already wrote about.

There’s a second edition due in May. I’m looking forward to it.

Amazon links below for more information.

Why Programs Fail: A Guide to Systematic Debugging

Why Programs Fail: A Guide to Systematic Debugging (Second Edition)

One Response to “Notes on “Why Programs Fail””

  1. Ian Says:

    Sounds like I have my next book to read … and it is even available in the Lab’s library, sitting on the shelf. Thanks!


Comments are closed.

