Notes on “Comments on “Formal methods application: an empirical tale of software development””

May 10, 2009

Comments on “Formal methods application: an empirical tale of software development made me happy. I love a good academic smackdown. It’s an art form.

One thing Berry & Tichy didn’t mention (possibly due to timing) was that Sobel’s “research” clearly violated some of the ethical principles laid out in Ethical Issues in Empirical Studies of Software Engineering.

And yes, Sobel’s project was bad enough that it deserves scare quotes around “research.” Ann E. Kelley Sobel: Dogmatic pseudoscience + Ethics violation FAIL.

(I really, really shouldn’t write these things until I can demonstrate I’m capable of doing better. But it’s just so much fun.)

