Thesis Way Forward

May 29, 2009

I’m back from ICSE, mostly recovered from jet lag and overcoming my caffeine withdrawal symptoms. It’s time to plot my Master’s thesis:

  1. Research
    1. Emulate Marc Eisenstadt’s “Tales of Debugging from The Front Lines” to try to draw in some DSL debugging stories.
    2. Get out to Toronto tech companies using DSLs (leaning heavily on Greg’s network) to interview and observe as an exploratory study so I can plot my case study.
    3. Informed by the above explorations, perform a case study of DSL debugging in practice.
  2. Learning
    1. Learn how to perform a great case study.
    2. Read more background papers in the area. I’ve got about twenty in the queue.
  3. Writing
    1. Write the background/introductory sections as I read background papers.
    2. Write the rest of the thesis as I get work done.
