The New Airport Security

January 6, 2010

Rory and Aran fly to San Jose.

We pack checked baggage only, knowing we won’t be allowed to carry much on.

The airport is empty. Flying on Wednesday afternoon has its perks.

It takes a while to figure out that flying NorthWest Airlines means checking in at Delta.

We breeze through checkin. I had a cheerful, friendly agent who helped me through checkin and waived my checked baggage fee of $20. Rory was not so lucky, with a surly woman who gave no such favour.

Customs had a couple agents working and no line. My agent found out I was interviewing at Yahoo!, so he asked me why they should hire me instead of some other candidate.

The usual X-Ray screening station was overstaffed. We didn’t wait, and the agents with nothing to do were joking around.

Beyond usual security, there was a new station staffed with a dozen RCMP men and women. They were doing full pat-down searches and inspection of electronics. They were way more cheerful than the usual security types. I guess they still had their souls. We cracked jokes about my trying to earn a pat down from one of the cute female officers. (No luck.)

Total time from entering the airport to reaching my gate: Less than one hour.

2 Responses to “The New Airport Security”


  1. Not bad.

    And how was the flight back? (or has that happened yet?) Are regulations (eg, on electronics and stuff) as tight when you’re flying *out* of the US?

  2. Katie Says:

    “We cracked jokes about my trying to earn a pat down from one of the cute female officers. (No luck.)”

    Tsk.


Comments are closed.

